Online Catalog > Book
Check-outs :

Paperboy

  • Hit:193
  • Rating:0
  • Review:0
  • Trackback:0
  • Forward:0



  • Bookmark:
轉寄 列印
第1級人氣樹(0)
人氣指樹
  • keepsite
  • Introduction
  • About Author
  • Collection(0)
  • Review(0)
  • Rating(0)

*"Reminiscent of To Kill a Mockingbird." --Booklist, Starred"An unforgettable boy and his unforgettable story. I loved it " --ROB BUYEA, author of Because of Mr. Terupt and Mr. Terupt Falls AgainThis Newbery Honor winner is perfect for fans of To Kill a Mockingbird, The King's Speech, and The Help. A boy who stutters comes of age in the segregated South, during the summer that changes his life. Little Man throws the meanest fastball in town. But talking is a whole different ball game. He can barely say a word without stuttering--not even his own name. So when he takes over his best friend's paper route for the month of July, he's not exactly looking forward to interacting with the customers. But it's the neighborhood junkman, a bully and thief, who stirs up real trouble in Little Man's life.A Newbery Honor Award WinnerAn ALA-ALSC Notable Children's BookAn IRA Children's and Young Adults' ChoiceAn IRA Teachers' ChoiceA Bank Street College of Education Best Book of the YearA National Parenting Publications Award Honor BookA BookPage Best Children's BookAn ABC New Voices Pick A Junior Library Guild SelectionAn ALA-ALSC Notable Children's RecordingAn ALA-YALSA Amazing AudiobookA Mississippi Magnolia State Award List Selection " Vawter's] characterization of Little Man feels deeply authentic, with . . . his fierce desire to be 'somebody instead of just a kid who couldn't talk right.'" --The Washington Post "Paperboy offers a penetrating look at both the mystery and the daily frustrations of stuttering. People of all ages will appreciate this positive and universal story." --Jane Fraser, president of the Stuttering Foundation of America *" A] tense, memorable story." --Publishers Weekly, Starred "An engaging and heartfelt presentation that never whitewashes the difficult time and situation as Little Man comes of age." --Kirkus Reviews "Vawter portrays a protagonist so true to a disability that one cannot help but empathize with the difficult world of a stutterer." --School Library Journal

VINCE VAWTER, a native of Memphis, retired after a forty-year career in newspapers, most recently as the president and publisher of the Evansville Courier & Press in Indiana. Paperboy is his first novel.

Must Login
Must Login
Must Login
Must Login